First Third of the School Year Has Finished

Tuesday, 3rd May 2022

First Third of the School Year Has Finished

On 10th of January regular classes started again in Adjumani and the first term is already over. The government has now concluded that all schools can return to their regular teaching plans that have been practiced for years. The plan to carry out a special test in May has been cancelled after all. Everyone agrees with these decisions, and everyone is happy to be continue as usual.

Fortunately, there were no corona cases in the first third of the school year, neither among the students nor among the staff.

Everyday life is back and we are all more than happy about this!

Everyday life is great!

They are Back!

Even after a two-year break, the day begins with the usual morning assembly

Monday, 10th January 2022

They Are Back!

As of today, all schools in Uganda have resumed operations. Almost half of the Ugandan population goes to school, so the challenges are enormous. The closure lasted almost two years, making it one of the longest in the world. UgandaKids has been preparing for the opening for a long time. Not only the procedures prescribed by the government had to be implemented. Mask on, keep your distance, disinfect hands applies to all schools. Likewise, the use of rapid tests was banned. These are not available in sufficient quantities and therefore many families cannot afford them.

To ensure that the children are not prevented from attending school, their use was immediately prohibited.

There is now a four-week test phase for all the students. Everyone is starting in the grade they were in when teaching stopped in March 2020. After that the children will be newly assessed. This procedure has been agreed with the parents’ representatives and appears necessary because the children didn’t have the same opportunities to learn. Their way of being able to learn and repeat their studies varied greatly during the lockdown period.

Hilda and the teachers are currently particularly challenged. But everyone is happy that it has finally starting again.

Online Lessons For Scholarship Holders

Scholarship holder Jackline Mazira (18 years old) is online at Biyaya Secondary School

Sunday, 21st November 2021

Online Lessons For Scholarship Holders

Online lessons in Uganda? Is it possible?

Well, a lot of UgandaKids scholarship holders are attending secondary schools who have wanted to try for a week. Therefore, Hilda has bought some smartphones and also took care of the corresponding data packages. Since schools all over the country are planning online lessons, functional smartphones were already available for 300,000 schillings (around € 75).

Another problem is network coverage and quality in northern Uganda. At the moment, many students from different educational establishments are gathering at locations with good network coverage. The teachers are only teaching online.

UgandaKids has so far purchased twelve of these devices, which are available to the pupils and are used by several youths at the same time.

Yesterday the Ugandan President announced on television that primary schools would reopen in January. According to him, 21 million Ugandans over the age of 18 will be vaccinated by the end of the year.

At UgandaKids, all employees have been fully vaccinated for weeks. The younger children have not spent a day at school since March 2020. We are ready!

 

Dispite The Pandemic – Excellent Results

Candidates 2020

Saturday, 17th July 2021

Dispite The Pandemic – Excellent Results

Last year’s final exams should have been written at the beginning of November in 2020. But from March last year all schools in Uganda were closed. It was not until October 2020 that the senior class was able to return to face-to-face teaching with interruptions. The postponed exams were then rescheduled for April.

It seemed impossible to maintain the high level under the given circumstances and to repeat the very good results of the previous classes. A large part of the material had to be learned and repeated in distance learning. Not with laptops like we do or in expensive private schools in the capital Kampala. For months it was only possible to work with photocopies, which were then corrected and returned by the teachers.

And they did it again after all: best school of the North again! 27 first grades and 15 second grades, an average of 1.35! What an achievement – hats off and respect!

 

Final Exams Done – More Face-to-Face Teaching Again

38° Celsius – and threee hours Maths exams

Saturday, 3rd April 2021

Final Exams Done – More Face-to-Face Teaching Again

We used to see them sitting at their desks on their own at the end of October: our candidates for the PLE, the Primary Leaving Exams. But Corona caused a delay here too. So these exams, which are so important for their further development, took place last week. As always, the tasks were the same across the country and so four subjects were taken in written exams in two days: math, science, English and social studies. Because of the masks and the much hotter climate, it was a particular challenge this time. Nevertheless, we are confident that we will experience the best results in a few weeks. In Uganda, good grades not only make you proud; they also make scholarships possible, which ensures help for further training.

Just yesterday we received the great news that from next week onwards classes four to seven can be taught in the classroom again. The situation is improving!

Erstes Drittel des Schuljahres beendet

So schön kann Alltag sein

Dienstag, den 3. Mai 2022

Erstes Drittel des Schuljahres beendet

Am 10. Januar hat in Adjumani wieder der Unterricht begonnen und schon ist der erste „Term“ vorbei.  Mittlerweile hat die Regierung verfügt, dass alle Schulen wieder zum jahrelang bewährten Zeitplan zurückkehren. Eine Sonderprüfung im Mai soll es jetzt doch nicht geben. Mit dieser Entscheidung kommen alle gut zurecht, viele sind froh den alten Rhythmus wieder aufnehmen zu können.

Es gab im ersten Drittel des Schuljahres keine Corona Fälle, weder bei den Schülerinnen und Schülern, noch beim Personal.

Der Alltag hat uns wieder und wir sind alle froh darum!

 

Sie sind zurück!

Auch nach zwei Jahren Pause beginnt der Tag mit dem Morgenappell

Montag, 10. Januar 2022

Sie sind zurück!

Seit heute haben alle Schulen in Uganda wieder den Betrieb aufgenommen. Nahezu die Hälfte der ugandischen Bevölkerung besucht eine Schule, die Herausforderungen sind daher enorm. Fast zwei Jahre hatte die Schließung gedauert und war damit eine der längsten weltweit. UgandaKids hat sich auf die Öffnung seit langem vorbereitet. Es mussten nicht nur die von der Regierung vorgegebenen Verfahren umgesetzt werden. Maske auf, Abstand halten, Hände desinfizieren gilt auf allen Schulen. Ebenso das Verbot auf Schnelltests zurückzugreifen. Sie sind nicht in ausreichender Menge zu beschaffen und viele Familien können sie sich nicht leisten.

Damit keine Kinder auf diesem Weg vom Schulbesuch abgehalten werden, wurde deren Einsatz kurzerhand untersagt.

Bei UgandaKids beginnt nun eine vierwöchige Testphase für alle Schülerinnen und Schüler. Zunächst beginnen alle in der Jahrgangsstufe, in welcher sie im März 2020 waren. Danach werden die Kinder neu eingestuft. Dieses Vorgehen ist mit den Elternvertretern abgesprochen und erscheint notwendig, da die Möglichkeiten der Kinder zu lernen und das Gelernte zu wiederholen während der Zeit des Lockdowns sehr unterschiedlich waren.

Hilda und die Lehrkräfte sind derzeit besonders gefordert. Aber alle freuen sich, dass es endlich wieder losgeht.

StipendiatInnen im Online Unterricht

Sonntag, den 21. November 2021

Onlineunterricht für StipendiatInnen

Onlineunterricht in Uganda? Geht das überhaupt?

Nun, viele UgandaKids StipendiatInnen besuchen Sekundarschulen, die es seit einer Woche versuchen wollen. Daher hat Hilda einige Smartphones angeschafft und auch für die entsprechenden Datenpakete gesorgt. Da im ganzen Land Schulen Onlineunterricht planen, waren zweckmäßige Smartphones schon für 300.000 Schilling ( etwa 75 €) zu bekommen.

Ein anderes Problem ist die Netzabdeckung und -qualität im Norden Ugandas. So sammeln sich zur Zeit an den Orten mit guter Netzabdeckung viele Schülerinnen und Schüler aus unterschiedlichen Lehranstalten. Die Lehrkräfte sind nur am Bildschirm dabei.

UgandaKids hat bisher zwölf dieser Geräte angeschafft, die leihweise zur Verfügung stehen, und gleichzeitig von mehreren Lernenden genutzt werden.

Der ugandische Präsident hat gestern in einer Fernsehansprache bekannt gegeben, dass die Primarschulen im Januar wieder geöffnet werden sollen. Nach seiner Aussage wird werden bis Jahresende 21 Millionen UganderInnen über 18 Jahren geimpft sein.

Bei UgandaKids sind alle Angestellten seit Wochen vollständig geimpft. Die jüngeren Kinder haben seit März 2020 keinen Tag auf der Schule verbracht. Wir sind bereit!

 

Stipendiatin Jackline Mazira (18 Jahre) geht mit der Biyaya Secondary School online

Trotz Pandemie – exzellente Ergebnisse

Abschlussklasse 2020

Samstag, 17. Juli 2021

Trotz Pandemie – exzellente Ergebnisse

Anfang November 2020 hätten die Abschlussprüfungen des letzten Jahres geschrieben werden sollen. Aber ab März letzten Jahres wurden in Uganda alle Schulen geschlossen. Erst im Oktober konnte die Abschlussklasse mit Unterbrechungen zum Präsenzunterricht zurückkehren. Die verschobenen Prüfungen wurden dann im April nachgeholt.

Unter den gegebenen Umständen das hohe Niveau zu halten und die sehr guten Resultate ihrer Vorgängerklassen zu wiederholen erschien unmöglich. Ein großer Teil des Stoffes musste im Distanzunterricht gelernt und wiederholt werden. Nicht per Laptop wie bei uns oder in den teuren Privatschulen der Hauptstadt Kampala. Monatelang war nur das Bearbeiten von Fotokopien, welche anschließend von den Lehrkräften korrigiert zurückgegeben wurden, möglich.

Und sie haben es doch geschafft: Wieder beste Schule im Norden! 27 „Einser“ und 15 „Zweier“, Schnitt 1,35! Was für eine Leistung – Hut ab!

 

Abschluss geschrieben – wieder mehr Präsenzunterricht

Drei Stunden Mathe bei 38° Celsius

Samstag, 03. April 2021

Abschluss geschrieben – wieder mehr Präsenzunterricht

Eigentlich sehen wir sie immer Ende Oktober allein in einer Bank sitzen: unsere Kandidaten für die PLE, die Primary Leaving Exams. Aber Corona hat auch hier für Verspätung gesorgt. Also fanden diese, für den weiteren Werdegang so wichtigen, Prüfungen letzte Woche statt. Wie immer waren die Aufgaben landesweit gleich und so wurden in den schriftlichen Prüfungen vier Fächer in zwei Tagen abgenommen: Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften, Englisch und Sozialkunde. Wegen der Masken und des deutlich heißeren Klimas war das dieses Mal eine besondere Herausforderung. Wir sind aber zuversichtlich trotzdem beste Resultate in einigen Wochen zu erfahren. Gute Noten machen in Uganda nicht nur stolz; sie ermöglichen auch Stipendien, mit deren Hilfe die weitere Ausbildung sichergestellt werden kann.

Gerade gestern hat uns die Nachricht erreicht, dass ab kommender Woche wieder die Klassen vier bis sieben im Klassenzimmer unterrichtet werden dürfen. Es geht aufwärts!